ICAO Global Aviation Training and TRAINAIR PLUS Symposium
October 9-11, Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan

About Kazakhstan

The Republic of Kazakhstan is a unitary state with the presidential system of government. Under the Constitution, Kazakhstan is a democratic, secular, legal and social state which recognizes the man, his life, rights and freedoms as the supreme values of the country.

Kazakhstan gained independence on December 16, 1991. Astana is the capital city of the country. Kazakh language is the official language of Kazakhstan. The Russian language has the status of the language of interethnic communication. The unit of currency used in Kazakhstan is tenge.

The President of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the head of state, the highest political official, who determines the main directions of the domestic and foreign policy of the country and represents Kazakhstan on the international arena. The President is a symbol and guarantor of the national unity and the state power, inviolability of the Constitution, as well as the rights and freedoms of an individual and citizen.

The country is divided into 14 administrative zones and has 2 cities of national significance.

The population of Kazakhstan exceeds 17 million people. The ethnic structure of the society, according to the national census of 2009, is as follows: Kazakhs - 63.07%, Russian - 23,7%, Uzbeks - 2.85%, Ukrainians - 2.08%, the Uighurs - 1.4%, Tatars - 1.28%, the Germans - 1.11% other - 4.51%.

Covering an area of 2.724 million square kilometers, the country has the ninth largest territory in the world. In the north and the west, the country shares border with Russia (7,591 km), with China in the east (1,783 km), with Kyrgyzstan (1,242 km), with Uzbekistan (2,351 km) and Turkmenistan (426 km) in the south. The total length of land border of Kazakhstan with other states amounts to 13,200 km.

Kazakhstan is the largest land locked country in the world. Most part of the country accounts for the desert - 44% and semi-deserts - 14%. Steppes occupy 26% of Kazakhstan’s territory, while forests - only 5.5%. There are 8,500 rivers in the country. The Northeastern part of the Caspian Sea is a part of the country. The Aral Sea is divided between Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan. In Kazakhstan, there are 48,000 large and small lakes, among which are Balkhash, Zaisan and Alakol. The remoteness of the country from the oceans determine the continental climate of the country.

There are more than 5,000 deposits of mineral resources in the country, the estimated cost of which is said to be tens of trillions of dollars. The country is ranked first in the world on explored reserves of zinc, tungsten and barite, second – on silver, lead and chromites, third – on copper and fluorite, fourth - on molybdenum, and sixth - on gold.

Kazakhstan also has significant oil and gas resources and holds the 9th place in the world in proven oil reserves, most of which are located in the western regions. In addition, the country’s uranium and coal deposits are the 2nd and the 8th largest in the world respectively.

Kazakhstan is among the world’s top ten exporters of grain and is one of the leaders in flour export. Nearly 70% of arable land in the north of the country is occupied by grain and industrial crops - wheat, barley, millet. Rice, cotton, and tobacco are cultivated in the south of the country. Kazakhstan is also famous for its gardens, vineyards and melons. Livestock farming is another leading area of agriculture in the country.

To diversify its economy, the country has successfully implemented a Programme of Accelerated Industrial and Innovative development, stipulating the modernization of the old enterprises and opening of the new ones.

At the moment, Kazakhstan is implementing a large-scale project titled “New Silk Road” that envisions the revival of the country’s historical role as the major bridge between the two continents. It is also planned to transform the country into the largest business and transit hub of the region. By the year 2020, the volume of transit traffic through Kazakhstan is expected to increase almost twice.

As a leader in Central Asia, the country is making a significant contribution to stability in the region. The country has made great strides on the global stage, which is proved by the presidency of Kazakhstan in the OSCE Summit held in Astana in December 2010. Another significant initiative was the launch of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia, the Asian analogue of the OSCE. Kazakhstan’s activities as the chairman of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, the leading organization of the Islamic world got positive feedback from the international community. The country is a well-established leader in the global anti-nuclear movement.

Kazakhstan is a member state of the Eurasian Economic Union.

The basis of Kazakhstan’s prosperity is the stable growth in all sectors of its economy, international recognition and political stability. Kazakhstan is a country looking into the future, which retains its culture, traditions and successfully realizes its huge creative potential in the nowadays dynamic world.

General facts

  • Time zone: GMT +6
  • Average temperature in October: +5 +10 C
  • Currency: Tenge
  • Official languages: Kazakh language is the official language of Kazakhstan. The Russian language has the status of the language of interethnic communication.
  • Electricity: 220 V AC, 50 Hz, Power Socket type: C/F
  • International dialing code: +7
  • Common emergency number: 112

ICAO Global Aviation Training and TRAINAIR PLUS Symposium
October 9-11, Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan

О Казахстане

Республика Казахстан является унитарным государством с президентской формой правления. Согласно Конституции, страна утверждает себя демократическим, светским, правовым и социальным государством, высшими ценностями которого являются человек, его жизнь, права и свободы.

Казахстан обрел независимость 16 декабря 1991 года. Столица – город Астана. Государственный язык – казахский, русский имеет статус языка межнационального общения. Денежная единица – тенге.

Президент Республики Казахстан является главой государства, его высшим должностным лицом, определяющим основные направления внутренней и внешней политики государства и представляющим Казахстан внутри страны и в международных отношениях. Президент – символ и гарант единства народа и государственной власти, незыблемости Конституции, прав и свобод человека и гражданина.

Административно-территориальная структура страны включает 14 областей и 2 города республиканского значения.

Численность населения Казахстана превышает 17 млн человек. Этническая структура общества, согласно национальной переписи 2009 года, выглядит следующим образом: казахи - 63,07%, русские - 23,7%, узбеки - 2,85%, украинцы - 2,08%, уйгуры - 1,4%, татары - 1,28%, немцы - 1,11%, другие - 4,51%.

Занимая территорию 2 млн 724,9 тыс квадратных километров, страна находится на девятом месте по площади в мире. На севере и западе республика имеет общие границы с Россией – 7 591 км (самая длинная непрерывная сухопутная граница в мире), на востоке с Китаем – 1 783 км, на юге с Кыргызстаном – 1 242 км, Узбекистаном – 2 351 км и Туркменистаном – 426 км. Общая протяженность сухопутных границ – 13 200 км.

Казахстан – самая крупная страна в мире, которая не имеет прямого выхода в Мировой океан. Большую часть территории страны составляют пустыни – 44% и полупустыни – 14%. Степи занимают 26% площади Казахстана, леса – 5,5%. В стране насчитывается 8,5 тысяч рек. Северо-восточная часть акватории Каспийского моря входит в пределы республики. Аральское море разделено между Казахстаном и Узбекистаном. В Казахстане есть 48 тысяч больших и малых озер. Самые крупные из них – Балхаш, Зайсан и Алакол. Удаленность от океанов обусловливает резко континентальный климат страны.

Минерально-сырьевая база страны состоит из более 5 тысяч месторождений, прогнозная стоимость которых оценивается в десятки триллионов долларов. Республика занимает первое место в мире по разведанным запасам цинка, вольфрама и барита, второе – по серебру, свинцу и хромитам, третье – по меди и флюориту, четвертое – по молибдену, шестое – по золоту.

Казахстан также имеет значительные нефтегазовые ресурсы (9-е место в мире по подтвержденным запасам нефти), которые сосредоточены в западных областях. Кроме этого, республика занимает 8-е место по запасам угля и 2-е место по запасам урана.

Казахстан входит в десятку ведущих мировых экспортеров зерна и является одним из лидеров по экспорту муки. 70% пахотных земель на севере занято зерновыми и техническими культурами – пшеницей, ячменем, просом. На юге страны выращивают рис, хлопчатник, табак. Казахстан славится также своими садами, виноградниками и бахчевыми культурами. Одним из ведущих направлений сельского хозяйства является животноводство.

Главными экспортными товарами является продукция добывающей, топливно-энергетической, металлургической и химической промышленностей, а также зерновой индустрии. Основные торговые партнеры республики – Россия, Китай, государства Европы и СНГ.

Для диверсификации экономики в стране успешно реализуется программа индустриально-инновационного развития, в соответствии с которой модернизируются старые и открываются новые предприятия.

Казахстан реализует масштабный проект «Новый Шелковый Путь», который должен возродить историческую роль страны как главного связующего звена континента и превратить ее в крупнейший деловой и транзитный хаб региона – своеобразный мост между Европой и Азией. К 2020 году объем транзитного грузопотока через республику должен возрасти почти в 2 раза.

Являясь лидером в Центральной Азии, республика вносит значительный вклад в укрепление стабильности региона. Больших успехов страна добилась и на мировой арене. Об этом свидетельствует председательство Казахстана в ОБСЕ и проведение в Астане Саммита этой авторитетной международной организации в декабре 2010 года. Значимой инициативой страны стал запуск и развитие проекта СВМДА – азиатского аналога ОБСЕ. Положительные отзывы получила созидательная деятельность Казахстана в качестве председателя ведущей организации исламского мира – ОИС. Страна является также признанным лидером в глобальном антиядерном движении. Казахстан является членом Евразийского экономического союза.

Стабильный рост всех отраслей экономики, международное признание, политическая стабильность стали основой процветания казахстанского общества. Казахстан – это страна, устремленная в будущее, которая сохраняет свои культурные традиции и успешно реализует огромный созидательный потенциал в современном динамичном мире.

Основные факты

  • Временная зона: GMT + 6
  • Средняя температура в октябре: + 5 +10 С
  • Валюта: Тенге
  • Официальные языки: Государственным является казахский язык.
  •  В государственных организациях и органах местного самоуправления наравне с казахским официально употребляется русский язык
  • Электричество: 220 В, 50 Хц, тип электрической розетки: C/F
  • Международный телефонный код: +7
  • Единый номер службы спасения: 112